Assigning a Grading Workflow to a Test

  • Updated

To link a Grading Workflow to a test:

  1. Under Grading workflow (New), click within the Select grading workflow field to launch
  2. Select the Grading Workflow to use for this test. Use the search field or Prev and Next options if the workflow is not displayed on the initial list.
  3. Click Save.

Changing between Grading Workflows (New) and Legacy Inspera Workflows

Once you select a Grading Workflow to use on the test, the Legacy Grading Workflow section (Private and Shared marking) will be disabled as they are mutually exclusive.

To re-enable the Legacy Grading Workflows section, you must remove the Grading Workflow from the test. To do this:

  1. Under Grading workflow (New), click in the selection field
  2. Click Reset. This will remove the selection from the test and Legacy Grading Workflow will be active again

It is not possible to to change between Grading Workflow (New) and Legacy Grading Workflow once a test has been activated.

Editing the Grading Workflow for the test

Like Test Templates, once a Grading Workflow has been added to a test, it is its own version and edits can be made without affecting the original Grading Workflow.

To make edits, click View details. This will launch the Workflow Summary screen and from there select Edit workflow

Missing settings from a Grading Workflow

If Skip for now was selected in the initial Grading Workflow set-up, a warning banner will be displayed at the top of the summary screen and next to each tab where settings are missing.

Click Edit Workflow to fill in the missing details. When in Edit mode, the warning icons will also appear next to each setting to make it easier to locate what’s missing

Editing a Grading Workflow when a Test is active

Each phase can be edited provided the phase has not opened (Allocation and Marking) or Closed (Calculation and Rules). Once a phase is closed, all the settings will be greyed out for that phase.

Editing Calculations and Rules when a Phase is open

If the calculations and rules in a Grading Workflow are designed to capture a selection of submissions, there may be occasions where the calculations and/or rules have not resulted in the target number of submissions being selected.

For example, there might be a rule to move all submissions that scored 80%+ to a specific phase yet on one occasion, over 50% of submissions achieved this result and there just aren’t the resources to second mark them all.

Provided the phase has not been closed, you can adjust the calculations and/or rules and see what the result will be before committing the changes.

The editing of Calculations and/or Rules must happen before a phase is closed. As the closing of a phase triggers the next phase’s allocation of submissions based on the rules, once the phase has closed, it has closed. There is no ‘undo'.

Evaluating and Editing the Rules

Whenever you close a phase, you will first be presented with a summary of what happens next in the workflow. You will see how many submissions are being moved to each subsequent phase, or if they’ve reached the end, how many will be marked a Grading Complete.

If you need to make any adjustments to the rules, click Edit Rules and you will be taken to the test’s Workflow to make the relevant edits.

It is also possible to access this screen from Deliver:

  1. Select View details
  2. Click Edit workflow

Once in the workflow screen. Ensure the correct phase tab is selected and scroll down to Rules. From here, make the edits and when you want to see how that will change the allocation, click Reprocess calculations and rules.

Editing and reprocessing the calculations and rules does not automatically save them. It is a guide.

You must save the workflow in the top right of the screen for any changes to be saved. Once done, return to the progress dashboard and close the phase.

Related to

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful