Available for Graders and Planners.
Using threshold values means that the grader(s) will award marks to each question, and based on the total number of points achieved by the candidate, the grading scale, and the threshold values, a grade is automatically generated in Inspera Assessment. The grader can easily override the suggested grade.
The thresholds are defined by the planner before enabling the test. It can then be edited by the planner in Deliver or in Grade, and by the grader in Grade until grading is confirmed. Read more about Threshold levels for planners.
How to open the threshold editor in Grade
- Within the Grade workspace, click the Options dropdown.
- Under Settings, click Threshold values.
The Threshold values Settings page contains the following information:
- Grade: What grades are presented here depends on the grading scale chosen for this specific test.
- Minimum marks: Minimum amount of marks to get a specific grade. This is where you edit the thresholds.
- Marks: The range of marks resulting in a specific grade.
- % correct: The range in percent of total score resulting in a specific grade.
- Candidates (Column available for graders only): The number of candidates with a specific grade. If you have not started marking yet, the Candidates column will say 0 for all different grades since only candidates with marks on each and every question will appear in the table.
- % of total candidates (Column available for graders only): Will be empty if marking has not started yet since only candidates with marks on each and every question will appear in the table.
- Avg. marks (Column available for graders only): The average mark for candidates with that specific grade. Will be empty if marking has not started yet since only candidates with marks on each and every question will appear in the table.
Image text: The columns Candidates, % of total candidates, and Avg. marks will remain valueless before marking is complete.
Image text: In this example, all candidates are graded, therefore, all columns contain a value.
How to edit the threshold values in Grade
Edit Minimum marks
The threshold values can be edited by the planner and the grader as long as the grading is not yet confirmed.
- To edit the threshold values, select the text box in the Minimum marks column and enter a value.
The entire table will update with new values as you edit the thresholds. The values displayed within the parentheses "(x)" are the original values.
Image text: In this example, the Minimum marks for grade A have been reduced from 45 to 40 points. You can see which values have been affected as the previous values are displayed within the parentheses.
Revert changes to threshold values
- To revert all changes, click Revert changes, or revert changes on specific grades by clicking the revert arrow on the desired row.
Save changes to threshold values
If the thresholds are being edited, the "Edited" tag will appear in the upper menu. Your modifications will not be lost if you close the threshold editor window without saving them. Instead, it will be labeled "Edited", and you will be able to continue editing from where you left off when you close the window.
- To save changes to threshold values, Click Update > Update now.
This will save the new threshold values and update the grades for all candidates in the test.
- Candidates for whom grades are set manually
This means that if you set a manual grade on a candidate and then make changes to the thresholds, the candidate with a manual grade will keep that grade no matter the changes of thresholds.
- Grades for candidates which are already confirmed
This means that if you confirm a grade for a candidate, and then make changes to the thresholds, the candidate with a confirmed grade will keep that grade no matter these changes.
- Candidates with incomplete marks
This means that a grade cannot be calculated if the candidate is missing marks on one or more questions.
When there is more than one grader/planner on a test
If several planners and/or graders are in the threshold editor at the same time, and the thresholds are being edited by someone, the values will be updated (however not saved) immediately for all to see. This means the changes do not need to be saved before others can see the changes.
Threshold values are temporarily locked while someone else is editing them.